Know your world in 60 words - Read News in just 1 minute

Breaking News

Select the content to hear the Audio

Added on : 2019-05-11 16:14:43

As the campaigning for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections in 59 constituencies ended Friday evening, over 10.17 crore voters across seven states will decide the fate of 979 candidates by casting their votes on May 12. On Sunday, voting will take place for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Haryana, eight seats each in West Bengal, Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, seven in Delhi and four in Jharkhand.

Here’s a look at the key battles in the sixth phase of voting:

Bhopal Madhya Pradesh

Key contestants: Digvijay Singh (Congress), Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur (BJP)

Main factors and issues: Bhopal has grabbed a lot of attention after the BJP fielded the controversial Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, an accused in the 2008 Malegaon bomb blast case, against veteran Congress leader Digvijaya Singh.

Sultanpur (Uttar Pradesh)

Key contestants: Maneka Gandhi (BJP), Sanjay Singh (Congress)

Main factors and issues: Sultanpur is witnessing a close contest as the BJP has fielded Union minister Maneka Gandhi for the seat won by her son Varun Gandhi in 2014 against Sanjay Singh of the Congress.

Azamgarh (Uttar Pradesh)

Key contestants: Akhilesh Yadav (SP), Dinesh Lal Yadav ‘Nirahua’ (BJP)

Main factors and issues: Considered as a bastion of the Samajwadi Party, Azamgarh is witnessing a Yadav versus Yadav battle. Voters here have elected 18 MPs in 16 general elections and two by-polls. Of the 18 MPs, 12 have been a Yadav candidate.

North East Delhi (Delhi)

Key contestants: Manoj Tiwari (BJP), Sheila Dikshit (Congress), Dilip Pandey (AAP)

Main factors and issues: North East Delhi constituency has emerged as the prestigious seat for both Congress and the BJP where three-time Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit has locked horns with Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari. Also in the fray is AAP’s Dilip Pandey, making the contest triangular.

East Delhi (Delhi)

Key contestants: Gautam Gambhir (BJP), Atishi (AAP), Arvinder Singh Lovely (Congress)       

Main factors and issues: The BJP is relying on Modi’s popularity and Gambhir’s star value, while the AAP is banking on Atishi’s personal connection with the voters and Kejriwal’s charisma. The Congress is calling both candidates of the BJP and the AAP as “political tourists” and “outsiders” as they are not from East Delhi.

South Delhi (Delhi)

Key contestants: Ramesh Bidhuri (BJP), Vijender Singh (Congress), Raghav Chadha (AAP)

Main factors and issues: With Jats and Gujjars along with Poorvanchalis, who hails from eastern UP and Bihar, making a large chunk of 20.67 lakh voters, the candidates are focussing on these groups to win the seat.

Story of the day


Good News




Copyright © 2019 Newz Viewz | Created by Communicators and Developed by Seawind Solution Pvt. Ltd.