Know your world in 60 words - Read News in just 1 minute
Hot Topics
Select the content to hear the Audio

Added on : 2019-04-18 17:48:31

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 to choose the 17th Lok Sabha is being conducted across India in seven phases. The first phase of polls was held on April 11 when 20 states and two UT went for polls. Voting in the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections begins, with 95 seats spread across 11 states and a union territory. Several high profile candidates are in fray among the 1629-odd contestants in this phase. Union ministers Jitendra Singh, Jual Oram, Sadananda Gowda and Pon Radhakrishnan, former prime minister H D Deve Gowda and DMK's Dayanidhi Maran, A Raja and Kanimozhi, BJP's Tesjaswi Surya and Hema Malini, former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Farooq Abdullah to name a few.

The average election turnout was around 57.51%. Manipur recorded the highest voter turnout of 68.94%

As many as 305 EVMs replaced in Tamil Nadu after technical glitches. An EVM destroyed during clashes in Chopra, Raigunj in West Bengal, an EVM was vandalized during a clash between TMC and BJP workers in Chopra.

Voting was disrupted at polling station 6/10 Kyamgei Muslim Makha Leikai in Manipur's Imphal East district. People stormed the polling station and destroyed EVM. To control the violence, security personnel were forced to resort to lathi charge and firing in shots in air to disperse the mob. More details awaited.

Villagers of Mangoli Kala in Fatehpur Sikri boycott the Lok Sabha elections 2019 over a lack of adequate irrigation facilities in the village. Polling official of booth number 41 said, "Nobody has turned up to vote till now."

Lack of basic amenities are often cited as reasons by people to boycott polls, but residents of Bhainsapalli village under Odisha’s Balangir Lok Sabha constituency did not turn up for voting on Thursday morning for a strange reason. The locals are unhappy that a new railway station has not been named after their village although a part of its built-up area lies in its jurisdiction. Originally, the railway station was proposed to be named after Bhainsapalli as it was to be set up in our village territory. At the last minute, it was changed to Bichhupali Railway Station.

An IED blast took place between Koracha and Manpur road, Rajnandgaon in Chhattisgarh on ITBP Road Opening Party (ROP) at 11 today. ITBP constable Man Singh received minor injuries. He is out of danger and performing his duty after first aid was administered in the same area. Polling in the area continues.

The polling dates for general election 2019 are April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. Elections 2019 result will be declared on May 23.

Story of the day


Good News




Copyright © 2019 Newz Viewz | Created by Communicators and Developed by Seawind Solution Pvt. Ltd.