Know your world in 60 words - Read News in just 1 minute
Hot Topics
Select the content to hear the Audio

Added on : 2019-05-12 18:26:19

An average of over 59.80% turnout was recorded in 59 seats spread over U.P, Haryana, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Jharkhand and Delhi in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls amid reports of an attack on a BJP candidate in West Bengal and EVM snags.

Elections were held in 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 seats in Haryana, eight constituencies each in Bihar, Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, seven seats in Delhi and four in Jharkhand.

The poll percentage in Bihar was 55.04%, 62.43% in Haryana, 60.21 in Madhya Pradesh, 50.96% in Uttar Pradesh, 64.46% in Jharkhand, 80.16% in West Bengal and 55.45 % Delhi.  

President Ram Nath Kovind, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj were among those who cast their vote in Delhi.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, his deputy Manish Sisodia, Union Minister and BJP’s Chandni Chowk candidate Harsh Vardhan, ex-cricketer and BJP’s East Delhi candidate Gautam Gambhir, Congress’s New Delhi and Northeast Delhi candidates Ajay Maken and Sheila Dikshit also cast their vote.

Counting of votes for all 543 parliamentary constituencies across the country will be held on May 23, and the result will be declared the same day.

Story of the day


Good News




Copyright © 2019 Newz Viewz | Created by Communicators and Developed by Seawind Solution Pvt. Ltd.