Know your world in 60 words - Read News in just 1 minute
Hot Topics
Select the content to hear the Audio

Added on : 2019-05-18 15:41:14

Voting for phase 7 of Lok Sabha elections 2019 will take place tomorrow, May 19. Over 10 crore voters will decide the fate of 912 candidates on 59 seats in eight states and union territories.

Over 1 lakh 12 thousand polling stations and heavy security is in place to conduct smooth voting. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, BJP lawmaker and veteran actress Kirron Kher, Congress leader Shatrughan Sinha, Union Minister and SAD leader Harsimrat Kaur Badal and actor-turned-politician Sunny Deol are among the prominent candidates in Phase 7 national election.

Other important leaders include former Punjab Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal, RJD leader Misa Bharti who is a daughter of former Bihar Chief Minister Lalu Yadav, Union Minister and BJP leader Ram Kripal Yadav, former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar and Bhojpuri actor-turned-politician Ravi Kishan who is BJP candidate from Gorakhpur.

Here are some of the interesting Lok Sabha constituencies to watch out for:

Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh

All eyes will be on this constituency where Prime Minister Narendra Modi is contesting from. He is being challenged by Congress’ Ajay Rai and Mahagathbandhan’s Shalini Yadav. Yadav is contesting on a Samajwadi Party (SP) ticket and has the backing of alliance members Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD).

Last time, Modi had secured over 5.8 lakh votes here. Rai had finished third with 75,614 votes.

Patna Sahib, Bihar

Actor-politician Shatrughan Sinha had won this seat for the BJP in both 2009 and 2014. Sinha stormed out of the BJP after years of an uneasy relationship with the party high command. He is now contesting on a Congress ticket.

The BJP has fielded Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad against Sinha. In 2014, Sinha had won with a margin of over 2.6 lakh votes.


BJP’s Anurag Thakur has held this seat since the 2008 by-election there. The constituency was represented by his father and former Himachal Pradesh chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal multiple times. The constituency in the hill state has been held by the BJP since 1989, except for a brief period in 1998-99, when Congress bagged it.

The saffron party has fielded Anurag Thakur for this seat again. He is being challenged by Congress’ Ram Lal Thakur.

Jadavpur, West Bengal

This prestigious seat was once held by Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. The constituency has been held by Trinamool Congress since 2009.

Now, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) has fielded actress-turned-politician Mimi Chakraborty to take on former Kolkata Mayor and senior Communist Party of India (Marxist) leader Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya.

Gurdaspur, Punjab

Veteran actor Vinod Khanna had won this seat for the BJP in 2014. However, it was clinched by Congress’ Sunil Jakhar in the by-election triggered by Khanna’s demise in 2017.

Now, the BJP has fielded actor Sunny Deol to take on Jakhar and wrest this constituency.





Good News




Copyright © 2019 Newz Viewz | Created by Communicators and Developed by Seawind Solution Pvt. Ltd.